Noob needs assistance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob needs assistance

(i sent this to my local off road shop, P.O.R. in Alexandria KY, but it was returned to me, so I turn to you guys...)

Greetings! I have a strange question resulting from the predicament I'm finding myself in: I drive a VW Golf that I've decided to make my backup car as it breaks often, and parts are expensive. I have acquired the use of my mother's pick up (a 99 Mazda B2500 SX 5spd.....jealous?!). The Mazda Ranger has been pretty reliable and parts are way cheaper. I'd like to make the thing a bit safer in bad weather and maybe make it worthy of some very light trail riding. I'm not trying to climb any rocks or anything because it's 2wd and has a very weak (although reliable, at least compared to my VW) motor.

I'm new to trucks, clearly. What can I do to this thing with a very limited budget? Is it even WORTH the money and effort? Can I get a locking differential and would that help much with rain/snow/dirt driving? I was thinking about getting some sort of locking differential, maybe throw some bigger wheels and tires on it (it has 14's! yikes!) and just keep it running for the time being.

Whaddya think?

Thanks for your time!

if its for a daily driver, and for snow/ice driving, forget the locker. it will hurt you more than help in the slick roads. your static (non-driving) wheel on an open diff is what helps your rear end track down the road straight.

get some bigger wheels, and put some AT's or nice snow tires on it.

Comment

Depending on your ability and time you could convert it to 4wd. Putting a locker in the rear will help a bit but will also give it some potentially nasty onroad driving characteristics. The rear axle may be an 8.8 which is strong. If you lived near a desert it would make a killer prerunner truck for baja running. You may want to look at trading it for a samurai or other 4x4. Good luck! (how was roy carl from por?) edit:CW