Need some help with my YJ

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some help with my YJ

I just bought a YJ and it's looking like I need to change the ring gear on my flywheel. If not the whole flywheel. Anyone up to giving me a hand with this? LOL I'm a noob with this stuff so I just need a little guidance and a place to do it. I'll be glad to compensate for your time.

Auto or clutch? Carwash, TKH fab and a couple of others on the board may be able to help.
    sigpic

Comment

It's a manual. Sorry for not specifying that. I'm going to go ahead and replace a few things while I'm in there. Unless I can get someone to rebuild my tranny fairly cheap. I might just do that. If not, there are some things I want to replace to prevent future problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comment

Originally posted by 94Dodge Truggy View Post
        Auto or clutch? Carwash, TKH fab and a couple of others on the board may be able to help.
        if it's a "flywheel", then it's a manual. it's called a flex-plate or such in an automatic.

Have you priced a new flywheel altogether with ring and all on it? If you have it out, changing the gear, then you might as well have it turned as well, and replace the clutch if it's questionable as well.

How did you diagnose that it's the flywheel and not the starter gear? Can you look in there and see teeth missing, etc?

All of my shop work now happens between the hours of 10 pm and 6 am, due to working another full time job, and i dont think i have any time to do this for you. wish i could help.

Do make sure that you have diagnosed it correctly before tearing into it and replacing the wrong stuff.

Comment