Go Back   C.O.R.E. FORUM > Campfire > General Discussions
Gallery FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-19-2013, 01:47 PM   #1
tjjeepjeep
Just tired

Septic Systems ??

Hello my friends...I'm hoping you can give me some info..

I've begun my search for a home. As such I'm finding quite a few of the homes I'm interested in have septic systems. (Apparently it's the price you pay for not having neighbors a foot away from you.) I've dealt with the well water that ran dry thing; so I'm already avoiding those.

Anyway I'm wondering what your thoughts are on septic systems. Cause I have zero experience and would appreciate yours if you have it.

Bad? Good? I know there is some maintenance involved. If you keep up on that, is it okay? Is the risk of catastrophic failure of it too much? Just wondering as I weigh my options and slowly narrow down what the heck I'm looking for other than fewer neighbors (which isn't a check box on most realtor sites).

Let me know what you think...and thanks!
Old 07-19-2013, 03:17 PM   #2
Patrick45015

I don't know a lot about them. Generaly they seem to work ok if you take care of them. I would call a place that works on them to find out if there is some way to inspect. If there is no way the I would figure in the need to have it dug up and cleaned within the first few years
Patrick45015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:57 PM   #3
yellowjacket
barely breathing

we have one..nothin to it.if its in good shape that is... have the box pumped every 4-5 years and that keeps the undesirable stuff from getting in the leach lines. u dont want that...
Old 07-19-2013, 05:59 PM   #4
yellowjacket
barely breathing

if its an older house the line from house to box might be that old ceramic crock pipe...if it is its prone to crack or get tree roots in it. new style is plastic.
Old 07-19-2013, 06:41 PM   #5
twiztedzuki

dont they just pipe it down holler to crick in Ky?
Old 07-19-2013, 10:12 PM   #6
tbshakie